* Share it Around

Author Topic:  Garrett AT Pro Review. 2 Years Plus  (Read 1103 times)

Offline Emu

• Gold

• Fill this by Posting :)
    0%
  • Likes Given: 120

• Total Badges: 22
    Badges: (View All)
    500 Posts 100 Posts 50 Posts 10 Posts First Post Third year Anniversary Second year Anniversary One year Anniversary
Garrett AT Pro Review. 2 Years Plus
« on: October 13, 2015, 21:36 »

Garrett AT Pro Review. 2 Years Plus.

I’ve never written a review for a metal detector before but as I’ve owned my AT Pro for over two years I thought it might be a good time to do it.

To put the review into context I hunt almost every day, often for long hours at a time, so I can speak with some experience. I don’t have any other detectors, and the only other detector I’ve ever used was a Whites 6000D so I’m not qualified to offer any comparisons with other brands. The only purpose of this review is to provide my opinions of the machine which may be of some benefit to detectorists considering buying an AT Pro.

Out Of The Box.

The detector arrived well packaged and came complete with a well written manual and instructional guide, plus instructional DVD.

Assembly is straightforward. Everything fits together snugly. The only tricky bit is seating the coil lead and headphone lead into their respective sockets in the control box. They are just plain bloody awkward and great care must be taken to seat the connecting pins into their sockets. If you’re ham fisted and don’t have them seated exactly right you run a very real risk of damaging them. You also must ensure that the leads are well seated into their respective sockets and the knurled connector fittings are fully secured.  After owning the detector now for over two years I still find that changing coils or headphones to be a fiddly job.

Build Quality.