* Share it Around

Author Topic:  Advice for a newbie with a gpx5000  (Read 739 times)

Offline Shane-o88

• Platinum

• Fill this by Posting :)
    100%
  • Likes Given: 686

• Total Badges: 42
    Badges: (View All)
    Third year Anniversary Nugget over an Ounce Coin Of the Month Winner Cricket Buckle Runner Up Gold Ring Shootout Find of the Month Winner Rams Head Shilling Roo Penny Sixpence Rising Sun Nugget Under 1 Ounce The Gold Ring
Advice for a newbie with a gpx5000
« on: October 15, 2016, 20:16 »
G'day guys, most of you know I am not new to detecting but I am new to the gpx5000. I have been keeping an eye on the prices and working weekends waiting to get enough to buy one of these. 5 hour round trip to pick it up and 1 hour round trip to test it out in the bush. I literally know nothing about coils, settings ect so any general advice or info would be greatly appreciated. It was less than $4500 and came with two batteries so I figured it was a gold deal. I'm used to the ATX so this is pretty different. What do you blokes reckon would be the best coil to run around over the patch I found with the ATX?

• Detector(s) owned/used: Minelab sd2100 (used). I own minelab GT16000, GPX5000, garrett ATX, garrett AT pro, lesche digging tool, garrett pin pointer.
  • Oldest find: Gold, 1906 dog tag, 1866 English penny, 1733 farthing
Don't gain the world and lose your soul, wisdom is better than silver or gold....

2015 gold rings : 22
2016 gold rings : 15
2017 gold total between my mate and myself : over 2000 nuggets, approx 50 species for a total of Approx 20 oz over 9 weeks prospecting.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCM

Offline jm94

• Bronze

0%
  • Likes Given: 120

• Total Badges: 20
    100 Posts 50 Posts 10 Posts First Post Fifth year Anniversary Fourth year Anniversary Third year Anniversary Second year Anniversary One year Anniversary
Re: Advice for a newbie with a gpx5000
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2016, 20:39 »