* Share it Around

Author Topic:  New to Gold Detecting - Needing help finding Nugget Location  (Read 925 times)

Offline Way2Go

• Copper

• Fill this by Posting :)
    60%
    • I live in: Cherrybrook
  • Likes Given: 2

• Total Badges: 6
    Badges: (View All)
    50 Posts 10 Posts First Post
Hello All,
I am new to the hobby and hope to learn a lot.
I have already purchased a 2nd hand Whites GMT so that I can look for gold. I know many of you will say "You Fool" there are other detectors out their better for a newbie!
With the research and budget I had, there was not many affordable detectors able to be used specifically for gold available. I am now seeking some assistance. I have been researching places in NSW to go and look for Gold Nuggets, as I live in Sydney. I have found lots and lots of information on panning, sluicing, high banking etc. however, very little as to nugget hunting. As a novice I am happy to tackle any site people say has been Flogged to Death or is full of trash, as I feel that these places will assist me in getting used to detecting and will help me develop my skills.
Could I ask if anyone knows of any areas which are suitable for me to try, where they know gold nuggets have been found in the past?
I look forward to your posts and hope one day to be able to post some great finds on the forum.
  • Detector(s) owned/used: Whites V/SAT, Minlab Quattro, Whites GMT, Whites TDI Pro OZ
  • Oldest find: 1861 coin

Offline Shane-o88

• Platinum

63.33%
  • Likes Given: 695

• Total Badges: 42
    Third year Anniversary Nugget over an Ounce Coin Of the Month Winner Cricket Buckle Runner Up Gold Ring Shootout Find of the Month Winner Rams Head Shilling Roo Penny Sixpence Rising Sun Nugget Under 1 Ounce The Gold Ring
Re: New to Gold Detecting - Needing help finding Nugget Location
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2016, 13:13 »
Most places that you can pan or sluice some color is worth an investigation as most of these locations will hold nuggets somewhere