* Share it Around

Author Topic:  Look out Gold Panning legend developing in Central queensland  (Read 765 times)

Offline Clegy

• Administrator
  • Gold
  • Just Dig it Up and see mate!

• Fill this by Posting :)
    10%
    • I live in: Yeppoon Queensland
    • Aussie Detectorist, Bringing the XP Deus back to Australia
  • Likes Given: 596

• Total Badges: 33
    Badges: (View All)
    Second year Anniversary 500 Posts 100 Posts 50 Posts 10 Posts First Post One year Anniversary
Hi All,
So a while back I bought some gold pans, there is a photo of the ones I got. The garrett Jobs.

I tried some panning in Victoria and failed very badly, so when I went out to mount Morgan a little while ago I decided to try and have a pan just below a giant tailings pile that recent drill holes suggest may hold 60,000 ounces of gold.

Its under lease of course, but not down in the river.

Keep In Mind I am new to this and only have a basic understanding of low pressure points etc.

Picked a likely looking spot and got a bit of colour first pan.

Since then I have processed about 5-6 buckets (15kg) of material in my yard at home. I pan it out in  babies pool with the bore pump flowing into it. I then run all that through the banjo pan before discarding into a test patch I am developing.

I've got a few tiny bits of gold so far in small jar. My Snuffer skills are terrible.

Just really stoked to pan some genuine mount morgan gold!

The lady at the tourist info laughed when I told here my plans and was actually surprised to see i had found a little gold in such a short panning session.
I swear they are missing a massive amount of gold tourism up this way, just because people think there is no gold left.

Tell that to Mark and his 220 gram nugget found a few months ago in our area.

SO thus ends my long winded post about doing some panning at Mount Morgan. Over winter I will be doing a lot more!

Clegy